top of page

Research Blog #2 - DIY

For this DIY project I will be explaining my process for my digital to analog piece.

I decided to use an arduino kit that I had to build. Setting up the robot was rather easy and took roughly 3 hours. The hardest part of assembling the robot was making sure you were hooking in the cord to the right part of the arduino boards. The robot was capable of object avoidance, line following, and could be controlled with a remote. When I first turned the robot on I set it to line following and it instantly took off in reverse. I spent a while troubleshooting and trying to reconfigure the cords to see if I could get it to move forward properly. Eventually I just took the top part of the robot and turned it around and it worked fine. The line following feature became a little more difficult to use because the two sensors were on opposite sides of the car. But for the purpos of my project I am using the object avoidance feature. After I had the robot set up I attached paint pens to the back with tape. While the tape doesn’t look as nice, the flexibility it allows the pens makes the lines smoother. I also chose to use paint pens so they had a long, flexible point that would glide easily on the paper. Finally, I made a 3x3 foot cage for the robot. I made high white walls because the sensor picks up white the best and laid down a piece of paper. Then I turned the car on and let it go ride and create its own lines by using the object avoidance mode.







2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page